September 2014 GlossyBox Review – Karen Millen

DSC_0099

Yes kids, it’s another beauty box review post! (I may have gone a little crazy on the beauty boxes lately). Read on for a review of what was in the September GlossyBox, with a photo-shoot straight from my kitchen. Mint!

GB2 GB3

You beauty. This month’s GlossyBox partners with Karen Millen and amongst the literature provided in the box, contains a voucher to be used in store which entitles you to £25 off when you spend £150. Nice.

DSC_0110

As we all know, my favourite part. From left to right, the box contains the following:

So we’ll start with the SkinPep products. I’ll be honest, I had never heard of them before, but I must admit they do intrigue me. And they came at a good time, I’m in dire need of good facial masks (plan on trying one out tomorrow) and the eye cream will always get used; I suffer from pretty bad dark circles and will try anything to help them even a little.

Next, the Nails Inc matte top coat. Applied a coat today, love it. Dries incredibly quickly (think less than a minute) and then it’s done. It gives a true matte effect and it’s lovely. I could get behind this matte polish malarkey.

Now, I already use the Anastasia Brow Wiz on my poor eyebrows (though when that runs out I want to try the Soap & Glory Archery 2-in-1 Brow Filling Pencil & Brush as a potential lower-cost alternative) and am more than happy with the Brow Wiz. I was a bit suspicious of the ModelCo eyebrow thickening gel, as when I swatched it on the back of my hand it seemed incredibly ashy. However, a quick swipe over my brows allayed my fears. I don’t think I’d use it on its own, but I’m more than happy to use it on top of my Brow Wiz for a bit of extra oomph & setting.

And we move onto the elusive GOSH cream blusher. Odd one, this. I’ve included a photo so you can get an idea of the colour:

DSC_0124

I must admit, when I looked at the card provided in the box that gives you details of each product, I was a little miffed to find out this can be purchased from Superdrug. I’m not a snob, believe me – I loves me some Superdrug. But to include a product that can so easily and cheaply be bought from a massive, low-budget drugstore chain? Hmm. But as it turns out, you can’t actually seem to buy it from there, so what the hell do I know? I balked when I saw the colour, I have to be honest. It’s not quite right for my skin tone, which is a bit sad, but I think with a bit of ingenuity I can make it work. Not too sold on the formula, it’s not actually that creamy and easy to blend. But again, that can be worked on.

And last, but not least, is the L’Oréal Professionnel Mythic Oil. This is quite a decent-sized sample, so add that to the positive column. And I quite like the fragrance – didn’t at first, was starting to wonder what I’d done to deserve such weird-smelling sample these last few weeks. But it’s grown on me, it doesn’t linger and isn’t overpowering. The formula itself is really oily (makes sense, it’s an oil) and honestly kinda scares me. I still balk at the idea of putting oil on my hair, it always gets that second day greasiness. But I have high hopes for this, due to its extremely positive reviews.

So, there you have it. I was quite annoyed with how long the box actually took to arrive – GlossyBox’s twitter feed stated the dispatch date was Friday 12th, but mine was in their warehouse for 5 days before it even dispatched, so I was deeply displeased with that. All my other boxes got here in excellent time (the fact GlossyBox used Royal Mail as opposed to a private courier probably didn’t help). And I was a bit disappointed to find out that some boxes had Origins products in theirs, as opposed to the GOSH blusher. I’d have taken Origins over a blusher you can buy in Superdrug any day. This was my first GlossyBox but hopefully next month will be a little better. This month’s box included a card stating next month’s box will include a full-size Nuxe Masque Creme Freche de Beaute, so that’s a plus.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend, we’ll be back on Monday!

– R

2 thoughts on “September 2014 GlossyBox Review – Karen Millen

  1. Pingback: Nails Inc. Westminster Bridge Matte Top Coat Nail Polish – The Review | Jaime & Rhian

  2. Pingback: SkinPep Brightening Enzyme & Acid Peel – The Review | Jaime & Rhian

Leave a Reply

